• Town of Weathersfield, Vermont

  • Town of Weathersfield, Vermont

  • Town of Weathersfield, Vermont

  • Town of Weathersfield, Vermont

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Monday, May 8, 2017

I. Chair Julie Schmitz called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.

II. Introductions: Nancy Heatley, Julie Schmitz, Paul Tillman, Michael Todd, Hal Wilkins (Land Use Administrator) Julia Lloyd Wright, Energy Coordinator (ex-officio)
Visitors - Lynn Esty, Selectboard; Jeff Pelton, Chair, Conservation Commission; David Fuller; Jim Cahill; Darrin Spaulding, Chief Ascutney Fire Department
Jarvis Subdivision: Judy Jarvis, Peter Jarvis, Sherrie McHugh, Peter Jarvis
Roisman/Popp Subdivision: Allan Swanson, Robert LaBonte

III. Agenda Review - None

IV. Comments from Public - None

V. Approve Minutes of April 24, 2017
Michael Todd moved to approve the Minutes of April 24, 2017, with corrections, seconded by Nancy Heatley. The Minutes were approved unanimously.

VI. Continuation of Public Hearings
a. Jarvis Subdivision Lot 54 02 09 - Final Plat Review.
Julie Schmitz opened the Public Hearing at 7:10pm and administered the oath to interested parties.
Commissioner and abutter Paul Tillman recused himself from the Jarvis Hearing.
Conservation Commissioners, Chair, Jeff Pelton and Harry Temple visited the 1.24 acre lot on May 4, 2017. Soils are 5B, Windsor loamy sand (‘Farmland of Statewide significance, not Prime agricultural’) and ‘Nothing problematic that would prevent this subdivision going forward’.
Final Plan for the subdivision was not supplied by the Jarvis’ engineer and several items still needed to complete the check list. Judy Jarvis was given a list of required items by Julie Schmitz and it was agreed to continue the hearing.
Michael Todd made a motion to continue the hearing on Monday, May 22, 2017, at 8:00pm, seconded by Nancy Heatley.. Voted unanimously.

b. Roisman.Popp Subdivision. Lot: 13 01 02 1 - Final Plan Review
Julie Schmitz opened the Hearing at 8:02pm and administered the oath to abutters Allan Swanson and Robert LaBonte.
Neither applicant Anthony Roisman or Gabrielle Popp was present for the hearing. Landowner’s surveyor, Robert Farnsworth, notified but absent.
Conservation Commissioners: Chair, Jeff Pelton, Christina Wood, Heather Shand and Harry Temple walked Parcel #2, 101.72 acres on May 4, 2017. Land is 19C, 19D Vershire-Dummerston rocky-very rocky, but well-drained slopes and 21D, 22C Shelburne well-drained sandy loam. There is no Prime Agricultural land. Conclusion: ‘There appear to be no factors to prevent this subdivision from going forward,’
Allan Swanson, a civil engineer and land surveyor, abutter and former owner of the property said he was prepared to make a presentation. He said there was no road on the property only a 30ft right-of-way which was reduced to prevent access to the 138 acres. In 2002 there was a one-lot subdivision with only one house. Planning Commission Minutes at that time should show that there should not be a subdivision. Access to the back land is a 30 percent grade and a subdivision should not happen.
Abutter Robert LaBonte said you could not get a fire truck up the slope.
The Commission made no decisions on hearing testimony and agreed to continue the hearing. Julie Schmitz entertained a motion to continue the hearing. Allan Swanson’s deed to be submitted as evidence of lot restrictions.
Michael Todd made motion to continue the Hearing on Monday, May 22, 2017 at 7:45pm, seconded by Nancy Heatley. Voted unanimously.

VII. Special Planning Commission Meeting, Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 6:30pm to redo Town Zoning Districts åmaps with Jason Rasmussen, SWCRPC.

Set Agenda for Next Meeting, Monday, May 22, 2017
Public Hearings: a. Jarvis subdivision; b. Roisman/Popp subdivision
Final read for: Home-Based Businesses; Gasoline Stations/ Convenience Stores; Outdoor Lighting; Signs
Discussion on Small-Scale Renewable Energy Systems; Should the Town have bylaws on Large-Scale Renewable Energy Systems if these are regulated under State laws?
Check template for Sketch Plan requirements and forms

VIII. Adjournment
A motion was made by Michael Todd to adjourn at 9:10pm, seconded by Nancy Heatley. Voted unanimously.